Move Button Move Button
Move Button Move Button

Pierson Bible Church was established on August 19, 1951 at the Pierson Town Hall as a non-denominational, fundamental church. In September of 1952, the congregation moved to its present facilities, expanding over the years to what exists today.

The story began when a few families commuting to church services in Howard City began bringing children to Sunday school from Pierson. A man in the church arranged to have a bus pick up the children as interest grew in the winter of 1950. Some folks saw the number of children who began riding the bus and realized it was time to have Sunday school in the village of Pierson, Michigan.

When they found the town hall was available, plans for a new Sunday school took shape. The first Sunday School was held there on August 19, 1951. A few weeks later Rev. Ray Knoll and his wife Donna joined the men and Pierson Bible Church was born.

By spring of 1952, it was time to find a permanent home for the new church and Sunday school.

An unfinished structure was for sale. It was just a basement but it offered the potential of supporting a fine church building if the people were willing to work. The purchase was completed and renovations began. By fall of 1954, a contractor has hired to construct a sanctuary on the basement-meeting place.

Our first meeting place

Old Pierson Town Hall

August 19, 1951

  • Pierson Bible Church began at the Pierson Town Hall
  • First Pastor - Ray Knoll

September 1952

  • Congregation moved into the basement of the present building
  • Second Pastor - Ed Rozelle

December 1954

  • Congregation moved upstairs into new Auditorium

August 1956

  • Building was completed

January 13, 1960

  • First Missionary adopted (support)

January 14, 1961

  • Sunday school bus purchased

July 9, 1961

  • First outdoor service

January 4, 1965

  • Third Pastor - Kenneth Hettinger

September 11, 1966

  • Fourth Pastor - Larry Pike

March 7, 1971

  • Fifth Pastor - William Baker

August 1974

  • Sixth Pastor - David Williams
  • New Auditorium
  • Seventh Pastor - Richard Denig

August 88 - June 95

  • Eighth Pastor - Charles Jones

July 95 - September 99

  • Ninth Pastor - Steve Swanson

April 2000

  • New Fellowship Hall (CMB)
  • Interim Pastor - Ray Luke
  • Tenth Pastor - (Joe) Kim Gee

November 2004 - December 31, 2006

  • Interim Pastor - Darwyn Hassert

January 1, 2007 - September 8, 2013

  • Eleventh Pastor - Thomas Sluys

January 2014 - November 2014

  • Interim Pastor - Garry Beasinger

December 2014 - September 29, 2019

  • Twelfth Pastor - Jeff Wallace

October 2019 - Present

  • Thirteenth Pastor - Tom Ekkel